Jarry and Gonzalez, champions of the Rio Open 2019/Fotojump

It was not this time a Brazilian player was crowned champion of the Rio Open presented by Claro.

Wild cards Thomaz Bellucci and Rogério Dutra Silva were defeated by Chilean Nicolas Jarry and Argentinian Maximo Gonzales  by 7/6 (7/3), 3/6 and 10/7 in one hour and 45 minutes at Jockey Club Brasileiro.

Last time a Brazilian had played the decision of the tournament before was in 2014, when Marcelo Melo played alongside Spaniard David Marrero and lost to Colombians Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah.

Playing together on and off for about one year, this was Gonzales and Jarry’s first title together.

But they both were champions in other doubles’ events. Argentinian Gonzalez has now six titles, all on clay: Valencia in 2008, Umag in 2015, Marrakech in 2016, São Paulo in 2018 and Buenos Aires, last week, but playing alongside fellow Argentinian Horacio Zeballos.

As for Jarry, this was his second doubles’ title. The first one was in Quito, last year, playing alongside country mate Hans Podlipnik-Castillo. But he was no stranger to the Rio Open’s late stages. Last year he made it to the semis last year but playing at the singles’ draw.

“It’s been almost one year that we’ve been playing together and we had great results, including in Grand Slams, but we never managed to win a title. Winning here is very special and Nico is a great friend. We are very happy and that’s really important to us. Hopefully we can play more events together. We already won an ATP 500, maybe next is a 1000 and one day a Grand Slam”, said Gonzales.

Even tough they played against a Brazilian duo at Court Guga Kuerten, Jarry said the audience was really respectful.

“It was not easy to play with a full house cheering against us, something that usually happens only at the Davis Cup, but we were getting used to that little by little and we tried to remain focused. It’s good to have a partner next to you so you can share the pressure with. And I want to thank the audience because they were loud but super respectful all the time”, said Jarry.

The Brazilian duo said that even though they did not win, the week was positive.

“It was a good week for us after all. There were lots of positives and the atmosphere was great. It’s a shame that we didn’t win but maybe next time”, said Dutra Silva.

“I think we felt the pressure of playing at home but we can’t and should not erase the great week we had here. Of course we are a bit frustrated we didn’t win, but we were super close”, added Bellucci.


Rio Open Doubles’ Champions

2019 – Maximo Gonzalez (ARG)/Nicolas Jarry (CHI)

2018 – David Marrero and Fernando Verdasco (ESP/ESP)

2017 – Pablo Cuevas and Pablo Carreño Busta (URU/ESP)

2016 – Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah (COL/COL)

2015 – Martin Klizan and Philipp Oswald (ESV/AUT)

2014 – Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah (COL/COL)

Share this post on: